Writer, Editor, Blogger

THE WANDERINGS

YA Contemporary

DessaCoverv2

UNTITLED

Simon & Schuster Books for Young readers, June 2018

(art credit: Ashley Poston, who created this lovely art for me for fun!)

Dessa Rose is a traveler—a modern day nomad. Her family lives in an RV, traveling the country in a small communal pack. Among them: Cyrus, the boy she has always loved but knows she can never be with. When your families are perpetually connected on the road, it’s too dangerous to take a risk on romance.

When she applies to art school, Dessa thinks the biggest hurdle is going to be convincing her traveler parents that she’s ready to leave the freedom of the road behind and lay down roots.  But instead of packing her bags and starting her new life as a freshman, Dessa doesn’t get in…anywhere. Suddenly her future is as empty as the road she’s grown up traveling, and it looks like she’s going to be stuck grappling with her feelings for Cy indefinitely.

Then an opportunity presents itself: an internship working with an artist whose work inspires, challenges, and thrills Dessa. But when the internship turns into a permanent position, Dessa suddenly isn’t so sure that she’s ready to stop moving—whether she’s really ready to say goodbye to the nomadic existence or, perhaps more importantly, to the boy she has always loved.

While Dessa’s traveling lifestyle is a fascinating and unique one, the questions she confronts are universal. How do you know when to say goodbye? When are you ready to stand on your own two feet? And how can you trust yourself to know what you really want? THE WANDERINGS OF DESSA ROSE is a romantic novel about family, responsibility, and learning to trust yourself, that will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Morgan Matson, and Emery Lord.

 

Representation: Jim McCarthy of Dystel & Goderich Literary Management